

Missouri Music Educators Association

A Federated association of the Music Educators National Conference

BOARD OF DIRECTORS / ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING

Saturday, MAY 9, 2015

9:00 A.M.

Continental breakfast available: 8:00 – 9:00 a.m.

MMEA Mission: Clearly focuses on effectively serving the membership in their goals of teaching and learning, by promoting a comprehensive music education program that furthers music making by all and supports the advancement of music education as a profession.

AGENDA

- I. Welcome and Call to Order i. Roll Call
- II. Approval of Minutes (August 2014)
- III. Executive Director's Report Paul Swofford i. Secretary/Treasurer – Elaine Swofford
- IV. President's Report-Gary Brandes
- V. President-Elect's Report-Jeff Melsha
- VI. Past President/Web Director Report-Rob Nichols
- VII. Vice-President Reports
 - a. Band Scott Kuhlman
 - b. Choral Christy Shinn
 - c. Orchestra Joseph Keeney
 - d. Jazz Danny Watring
 - e. College/University Skip Vandelicht
 - f. Early Childhood/Elementary Amy Gregory
 - g. General Music Carl McDowell
- VIII. District President Reports
 - a. Northwest District #1 Chris Heil
 - b. Northeast District #2 Tom Sweeney
 - c. Kansas City Metro District #3 Tim Allshouse
 - d. West Central District #4 Karen Dollins
 - e. St. Louis Suburban District #5 Jason Harris
 - f. Central District #6 Jim Stockmann
 - g. East Central District #7 Steve Harm
 - h. St. Louis Metro District #8 Shannon Crepps
 - i. South Central District #9 Raphael Thompson
 - j. Southeast District #10 Tom Broussard
 - k. Southwest District #11 Wes Morton

- IX. Affiliate/All-State Reports
 - a. MBA/Band Denis Swope
 - b. MCDA/Choir Jonathan Owen
 - c. MOAJE/Jazz Band Dave Dickey
 - d. MOASTA/Orchestra Ann Geiler
- X. Advisory Council Reports
 - a. NAfME -C Andrew Homburg, Collegiate Advisor & , Collegiate Representative, Andrew Tiefenbrun
 - b. Government Relations Paul Copenhaver
 - c. Mentoring Chair Steve Litwiller
 - d. MSM Editors Marty and Sally Hook
 - e. Exhibitors Chair John Patterson
 - f. Historian Marvin Manring
 - g. Technology Chair Michael Sekelsky
 - h. Research Chair Wendy Sims
 - i. SMTE Chair Daniel Hellman
 - j. Tri-M Chair Cathy Coonis
 - k. MIOSM Sandy Collins
 - 1. MSHSAA Davine Davis
 - m. Retired Members Chair Buddy Hannaford
 - n. Advancing Music Education Chair-(Currently Vacant)
 - o. DESE Fine Arts Consultant

XI. Old Business

- a. Dues Increase, March 2015 Swofford
- b. 2015 Performance Timing penalty appeals.
- c. Student Teaching-DESE- Hellman
- d. District Boundaries Review Melsha

XII. New Business a. Proposal: Performance Timing review, Joe Keeney

- XIII. Good of the Order/Announcements [Comments or observations, announcements of general nature]
- XIV. Adjourn Next Meeting Saturday, August 15, 2015
- XV. Lunch, Vice Presidents Conference Planning.

78th Annual In-Service Workshop/Conference---January 27-30, 2016 Theme: *Creativity and Innovation*