

Missouri Music Educators Association

A Federated Affiliate of the National Association for Music Education

BOARD OF DIRECTORS / ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING

Saturday, August 13, 2016 9:00 A.M.

MMEA Mission: Clearly focuses on effectively serving the membership in their goals of teaching and learning, by promoting a comprehensive music education program that furthers music making by all and supports the advancement of music education as a profession.

AGENDA

I.	Welcome and Call to Order
	i. Roll Call

- II. Approval of Minutes (April 2016)
- III. Executive Director Report Paul Swofford
- IV. Web Director Report-Rob Nichols
- V. Secretary/Treasurer Elaine Swofford
- VI. Old Business
 - a. Approve 2016-2018 Strategic Plan
 - b. Approve Performance Criteria Review Committee Recommendations

VII. New Business

- a. Approval of Advisory Board positions
- b. Approve 2016-2018 Budget
- c. Selection/Approval Conference Bids
- VIII. President Report Jeff Melsha
- IX. President-Elect Report-Brian Reeves
- X. Past President / Advancing Music Education Report-Gary Brandes
- XI. Vice-President Reports
 - a. Band Chris Sprague
 - b. Choral Paula Martin
 - c. Orchestra Michelle Davis
 - d. Jazz Ron Sikes
 - e. College/University Brian Silvey
 - f. Early Childhood/Elementary Kim Cowell
 - g. General Music Karen Dickinson

XII. District President Reports

- a. Northwest District #1 Tom Brockman
- b. Northeast District #2 Marc Lewis
- c. Kansas City Metro District #3 Clif Thurmond
- d. West Central District #4 Adam Twenter
- e. St. Louis Suburban District #5 Aaron Lehde
- f. Central District #6 Jean Baker
- g. East Central District #7 Chuck Moore
- h. St. Louis Metro District #8 John Miller
- i. South Central District #9 Kathy Phillips
- j. Southeast District #10 Tom Brousard
- k. Southwest District #11 Marvin Manring

XIII. Affiliate/All-State Reports

- a. MBA/Band Kim Pirtle
- b. MCDA/Choir William Grega
- c. MOAJE/Jazz Band Arthur White
- d. MOASTA/Orchestra Kirt Mosier

XIV. Advisory Council Reports

- a. Government Relations Paul Copenhaver
- b. Mentoring Chair Steve Litwiller
- c. MSM Editors Marty and Sally Hook
- d. Historian Marvin Manring
- e. Technology Chair Michael Sekelsky
- f. Research Chair Wendy Sims
- g. SMTE Chair Daniel Hellman
- h. NAfME -C Andrew Homburg, Collegiate Advisor & Dylan Fornshell, Collegiate President
- i. Tri-M Chair Sarah Sacco
- j. MIOSM Chair Gloria Pasley
- k. Jazz Rucker Multicultural
- 1. MSHSAA Davine Davis
- m. Retired Members Chair Buddy Hannaford
- n. Exhibitors Chair John Patterson
- o. Conference Manager Dave Goodwin
- p. DESE Director of Arts Education Tom Tobias

XIII. Good of the Order/Announcements

[Comments or observations, announcements of general nature]

XIV. Adjourn, Next Meeting Wednesday, January 25, 2017, 6:30PM, Room 63 & 64.

XV. Break-Out Sessions

- a. Conference Planning
- b. Affiliate Organizations meet with Gary Brandes over lunch.
- c. Performing Ensembles Director's Meeting, Brian Reeves presiding (60-61).

79th Annual In-Service Workshop/Conference---January 25-28, 2017 *The Language of Music*