

Missouri Music Educators Association

A Federated Association of the National Association for Music Education

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS / ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING Saturday, April 22, 2017 9:00 A.M. Continental breakfast available: 8:00 – 9:00 a.m.

**MMEA Mission**: Clearly focuses on effectively serving the membership in their goals of teaching and learning, by promoting a comprehensive music education program that furthers music making by all and supports the advancement of music education as a profession.

## **AGENDA**

- I. Welcome and Call to Order / Roll Call
- II. Approval of Minutes (August 2016)
- III. Executive Director Report Paul Swofford
- IV. Secretary/Treasurer Report Elaine Swofford
- V. President's Report Jeff Melsha
- VI. President-Elect Report Brian Reeves
- VII. Past President/Advancing Music Education Report Gary Brandes
- VIII. Exhibitor Report John Patterson
- IX. Web Director Report Rob Nichols
- X. Vice-President Reports
  - a. Band Chris Sprague
  - b. Choral Paula Martin
  - c. Orchestra Michelle Davis
  - d. Jazz Ron Sikes
  - e. College/University Brian Silvey
  - f. Early Childhood/Elementary Kim Warger
  - g. General Music Karen Dickinson
- XI. District President Reports
  - a. Northwest District #1 Tom Brockman
  - b. Northeast District #2 Marc Lewis
  - c. Kansas City Metro District #3 Clif Thurmond
  - d. West Central District #4 Adam Twenter
  - e. St. Louis Suburban District #5 Aaron Lehde
  - f. Central District #6 Jean Baker

- g. East Central District #7 Chuck Moore
- h. St. Louis Metro District #8 John Miller
- i. South Central District #9 Kathy Phillips
- j. Southeast District #10 Tom Brousard
- k. Southwest District #11 / Historian Report Marvin Manring
- XII. Affiliate/All-State Reports
  - a. MBA/Band Kim Pirtle
  - b. MCDA/Choir William Grega
  - c. MOAJE/Jazz Band Joel Vanderheyden
  - d. MOASTA/Orchestra Kirt Mosier
- XIII. Advisory Council Reports
  - a. Government Relations Paul Copenhaver
  - b. Mentoring Chair Steve Litwiller
  - c. Technology Chair Michael Sekelsky
  - d. Research Chair Wendy Sims
  - e. SMTE Chair Daniel Hellman
  - f. NAfME -C Andrew Homburg, Advisor & Cristin Selle, Collegiate President
  - g. Tri-M Chair Sarah Sacco
  - h. Multicultural Chair Jazz Rucker
  - i. MIOSM Chair Gloria Pasley
  - j. MSHSAA Davine Davis
  - k. Retired Members Chair Buddy Hannaford
  - 1. DESE Representative Tom Tobias
  - m. Conference Manager Dave Goodwin
  - n. MSM Editor Sally Hook
- XIV. Old Business
  - a. Policy and Procedures Performance Criteria Revision 8/2016 Jeff Melsha
  - b. MSM Article Paul Swofford
- XV. New Business
  - a. Registration Fee for Spouse/Guest at 2018 MMEA Conference
  - b. Advisory Council position (2018-2020)
  - c. 2018 MMEA Printed Programs Coordinator
  - d. MMEA 990 tax forms have been filed Approved by the Executive Board)
  - e. 2018 Exhibitor table rates raised (225-250/200-225/185-200) by the Executive Board
- XIII. Good of the Order/Announcements (Comments or observations, announcements of general nature)
- XVI. Adjourn
- XVII. Affiliate Leaders meet at Lunch

Next Meeting: August 12, 2017

80<sup>th</sup> Annual MMEA In-Service Workshop/Conference January 24-27, 2018